Residents of Manassas and other parts of Virginia may want to learn more about how a traffic violation may affect their commercial driving license (CDL). The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles has strict guidelines when it comes to traffic violations and commercial driving. According to the Virginia DMV, the classifications include:
- Moving violations
- Major offenses
- Serious infractions
If you are under age 20 and have accumulated one or more moving violation tickets, you will have to renew your license when you turn 20. This involves taking all your exams again.
You will be disqualified or prohibited from driving a commercial vehicle if you:
- Operate a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) or 0.04 or higher
- Drive a commercial vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- Refuse to take a breath or blood test while driving a commercial vehicle
- Fail to stop at an accident scene that involves your vehicle if there are deaths or injuries
- Use a commercial vehicle for a felony
- Make a false statement when applying for a CDL
Disqualification will be the result if your charges lead to a conviction. Serious traffic violations may lead to the revocation, suspension or disqualification of your earning a CDL. Some serious violations include:
- Reckless driving
- Texting while operating a commercial vehicle
- Going 15 miles per hour or more above speed limit
- Erratic lane changes
- Driving a commercial vehicle without a CDL
- Following vehicles too closely
- Driving a commercial vehicle without the proper CDL class for the vehicle group and cargo
Two serious violations equal a 60-day disqualification while three or more result in a 120-day disqualification.
If you committed traffic violations, whether with a CDL or regular driver’s license, it may be wise to contact a knowledgeable attorney who may help resolve your ticket in the best way possible. He or she can represent you, keeping points off your license and helping with misdemeanor traffic matters.