Bristle Law, PLLC is fully operational to meet the legal needs of our clients and potential clients. We are available for in-person consultations, following all safety precautions, as well as consults via Zoom. Our prayers are that each of you remain safe and healthy during this time.

Helping Create your path

to a better tomorrow

Helping Create your path

to a better tomorrow

The benefits of DUI classes

On Behalf of | Jan 13, 2022 | DUI

In some cases, a person responsible for a drunk driving accident must take DUI classes. If you live in Virginia, here are some of the benefits of attending these classes.

Why do people take DUI classes?

It’s important to know how DUI classes work, the cost of the classes, online options, and schools that are dedicated to helping individuals with DUIs. The classes are there to correct offenders and create awareness about drunk driving. Judges often assume that offenders are less likely to get another DUI once they are informed of the dangers of driving under the influence. The classes provide information about driving safely and detail the risks of drunk driving that people may not have considered.

Types of mandated classes

The court can mandate long or short classes. Short classes are for people who are DUI first offenders. Individuals are required to attend the class for a few hours. The class covers statistics and drunk driving incidents, and offenders can leave the class without submitting any follow-ups or tests.

Many DUI offenders will also have to undergo rehab treatment or attend substance abuse classes. Fees for these classes can vary.

Wet reckless programs and first offenders

A “wet reckless” conviction is less severe than a DUI charge. If you have a wet reckless conviction, this means your blood alcohol level is less than 0.08. You may be ordered to complete a DUI education program for at least 12 hours.

If you’re convicted of a DUI for the first time within a decade and your BAC is less than 0.20, you must complete a three-month, 30-hour counseling program that is licensed by the state of Virginia. DUI classes can be an alternative sentence to jail time, so it’s worth learning more about them.

Archives

FindLaw Network